“Control” – the Movie

Dear Reader,

 

I can’t stop thinking about the movie “Control,” a 2007 biopic about Ian Curtis, lead singer in the British band Joy Division. Why? I’m not sure. Is it because Curtis is dead? Because he hung himself? That he was only 23 when he did it? Or maybe I’m puzzled by his hip-locked arm dancing? His baby face? His epilepsy? His painful inability to carry on as a husband, father, boyfriend, and rocker? His music? That he wanted everything and in some way I wanted him to have it? His passion? Other’s passion for him? His drive to create? All of this? Yes, all of this.

 

The movie is based on Deborah Curtis’ (Curtis’ wife) memoir Touching From a Distance (1995). I’m curious about how it was translated from book to screenplay, so I’ll read the book and compare the two. I’ll also look that the DVD’s special features again, particularly the feature in which the screenwriter discusses how he gathered his information and decided the movie’s focus. (I love that stuff.)

 

Will you like “Control”? Again, I’m not sure. But I urge you to give it a look and try to enjoy the unique way the director chose to express Curtis’ deeply felt but short life.

signature25

2 Responses to ““Control” – the Movie”


  1. 1 chris richmond 08/06/2011 at 12:35 am

    I was the art director on the movie. We built most of the interior sets
    ,however, we did get to shoot all of the exterior shot’s at ian curtis’s real house in macclesfield. it was a corner terrace and the interior of the house had no right angles, everything was off-key. Really oppressive.

  2. 2 Faye Quam Heimerl 08/23/2011 at 1:07 am

    No right angles? Hmmm…. Would make me feel untidy. You say oppressive. Would you mind explaining more? Because this is interesting.

    Also, a question for you. How could the the clothes line thingy that Curtis hanged himself from support his weight? Being an American, I’ve never seen one of them in action.

    Thanks much.


Leave a Reply

