J. Diego Frey “Takes” On William Carlos Williams

Dear Reader,

Have you read J. Diego Frey’s new volume of poetry, Umbrellas Or Else? Not yet? Well then, I suggest you get right on it, because the experience is so fun it makes you want to dump your vocabulary on the playroom floor and start building poems with it. I mean it.

Now, I could go on and on about Frey’s poems, but today I want to on just one, “Re: The Cupcakes,” a loving take on William Carlos Williams’ poem “This Is Just To Say.” Here’s Williams’ poem.

This Is Just To Say

I have eaten

the plums

that were in

the icebox

and which

you were probably

saving

for breakfast

Forgive me

they were delicious

so sweet

and so cold

And here’s Frey’s poem. (Reprinted with the poet’s permission.)

Re: The Cupcakes

I found

perched furtively

in your top

left-hand desk drawer

I have eaten them

they were delicious

though frosting

stuck to plastic

Please forgive me

as they were in

the way of

the Paterson file

cc:wcw

Doesn’t it make you want to build your own version of Williams’ poem? Hmmm… I wonder how it would adapt to the last olive stuffed with blue cheese, or a sliver of French silk pie.

signature17

1 Response to “J. Diego Frey “Takes” On William Carlos Williams”


  1. 1 kristakae 02/17/2009 at 3:39 pm

    I bought his book the night he was at Forza, and yes, it is great. Refreshing. I also now have an “Umbrellas or Else” sweathshirt that he kindly handed out to one and all, and I love it as well!


Leave a Reply

