Free Write About Beef?

Dear Reader,

It started with my husband’s birthday dinner of twice baked potatoes, sautéed zucchini and yellow straight neck squash, chocolate layer cake, and Steak Dianne. It followed with my drive to a writing play date with writer Debra Shirley, during which I wondered If my Steak Dianne recipe calls for steak, butter, mushrooms, lemon juice, parsley, and Worcestershire sauce, what ingredients would Steak Tim (my husband’s name) call for? Or Steak Faye?

It ended with several 2-minute free writes based on “Write about Steak ___.”  Debra and I wrote about Steak:

  • Debra
  • Faye
  • Oprah Winfrey
  • To-Remain-Unnamed Political Figures
  • Disappointment
  • Gratitude
  • And Steak Merengue

Debra, a word chef, whipped up exquisite verb tortes. I stuck to practical meat and potatoes.

Here’s my “Steak Faye” free write.

Paprika sprinkled hot, very hot. Sweet onion rings, sweet onion, tender onion. Tender cut of beef, tender pounded, brazed and bloody enough to gain attention. The flavor hits you after it’s gone.

And “Steak Gratitude.”

Lemon scented optimism, clear cleaned vision doused with I-know-you-and-I’m glad. Swirls of love-herbed, full-fat cream cheese pinwheeled with lean beef.

And lastly, my second go at “Steak Debra.”

Chipped beef turned tenderloin, silk rubbed with comedy-drama-hot momma curry, passion seared and served on a bed of fresh Appalachian moss.

There are so many places you could take this idea, don’t you think? You could start with Quiche Lorraine, or Kung Pao chicken, and then move to Susan’s Slaw Burger (from The Nitty Gritty in Madison, WI) or Madeleine cookies.*  Let your taste for mystery be your guide.

* “Madeleine cookies are small scallop shaped cakes popular at tea-time in France. They make popular snacks with kids and are often dipped in a hot drink.

Proust’s Madeleine

“The madeleine was immortalized in Marcel Proust’s autobiographical book, Á la recherche du temps perdu (Remembrance of Things Past), where a taste of the cake plunges the narrator back into his childhood. Since then, Proust’s madeleine has become a metaphor in France for anything that creates a vivid memory.” Taken from “Easy French Food: all of the Elegance…none of the Fuss.

signature4

2 Responses to “Free Write About Beef?”


  1. 1 Debra Shirley 02/13/2009 at 4:34 pm

    Wow! I’m all that? Thanks, Faye, I sound delicious!

  2. 2 kristakae 02/17/2009 at 3:33 pm

    Ha ha…I finally remembered to read this! Too funny! I love it!


Leave a Reply

