CORALINE: “… after all, it is always easier to be afraid of something you cannot see”

Dear Reader,

I finally read CORALINE because I’d heard lots of people say they loved it. I did not love it. I did not much like it either. It didn’t scare me. And I don’t know if it would have scared me when I was a kid. It’s hard to say. I think now, as then, I need more depth of story, more than the premise of a bright girl being ignored/neglected then scooted to a new reality, where she realizes “there’s no place like home” and Mom.

The best line of the book is the title of this review: “… after all, it is always easier to be afraid of something you cannot see.” I absolutely believe this.

0 Responses to “CORALINE: “… after all, it is always easier to be afraid of something you cannot see””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment